Laser scanning and 3D printing

photo 2 (1)Today I popped into the School of European Culture and Languages at the University of Kent to pick up something I’ll be carrying with me from London to Canterbury. Last week I posted about Canterbury’s Dea Nutrix figure, and the School have laser scanned and 3D printed a copy of it. Check it out!

Lloyd Bosworth, the School’s Archaeology Technician, also showed me the laser scanner, and I even got to have a go myself. It works by sending out light and then incredibly accurately measuring the time-of-flight – the amount of time it takes for the light to be reflected back from the surface of the object. This is used to build a 3D model on a computer, which itself can then be used to print the object.

photo 1 (1)Lloyd will be taking the scanner out to scan artefacts at the museums I visit next week, and hopefully we’ll print a couple too. It’s a great way for someone like me to be able to handle and move these objects, which are often fragile and valuable.

I’m looking forward to seeing what else we can scan and print – hopefully we’ll find objects that people walking roads in Roman times would have taken with them.

– Dan

Leave a Reply

